The Australian Systemic Functional Linguistics Association.

CONSTITUTION.

OBJECTIVES:

- 1. To promote scholarship and research in Systemic Functional (SF) linguistic theory and related fields.
- 2. To disseminate the results of research in SF linguistic theory through publications such as journals, books or any other means.
- 3. To organise an annual national conference around SF linguistic theory and related fields, where (i) the only general exception to this will occur in those years where the International SFLA Congress is held in Australia and (ii) as far as possible, the Conference venue rotates, ensuring that members in different parts of Australia have access to the Conference.
- 4. To support projects aimed at creating courses, programs, summer schools and any other appropriate teaching activities which extend knowledge of SF linguistic theory.
- 5. To support local SF linguistic theory meetings/conferences/workshops and other initiatives as these are organised locally in different parts of the country.
- 6. To maintain the relationship with the International SFLA and to establish collaborative relations with any other professional body or group with related interests.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE ASSOCIATION.

Membership will be open to any interested person. International Affiliates will be accepted. Membership fees will be determined at the discretion of the AGM.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE ASSOCIATION:

There will be an AGM held at the Conference each year. A quorum will be 20 members (amended to 15 at the 1999 conference). At the meeting, the President, Secretary and the Treasurer will give an annual report. A motion made at the AGM will be considered passed if a positive vote is recorded by two thirds of the members present.

STRUCTURE OF THE ASSOCIATION:

The Association will be run by a Committee consisting of the Executive and elected members, representing the various states. The Executive and the elected committee members are the office bearers of the Association.

The Executive will consist of the following officers:

President

Vice President

Secretary

Treasurer

Ex-officio members of the Committee (non-office bearers, non-voting) will be the immediate past chair, the present Conference chair and the upcoming Conference Chair.

The elected Committee will as far as possible consist of one representative from each Australian state and Territory.

Other committee members may from time to time be co-opted by the Executive Committee.

Duties of the Committee.

To co-ordinate the activities of the Association. Duties include setting the venue of the up-coming Conference, administering the assets of the Association and convening the AGM at the annual Congress.

Operating rules.

Terms of Committee members. The Executive and elected Committee members will be elected for three years.

Sub-Committees: The Committee may set up permanent and Ad Hoc sub-committees as needed. It will be open to the Executive on the advice of the Committee or the AGM to create any sub-committees needed. For special projects, it will be open to sub-committees to co-opt additional members from outside the existing committee structure.

Committee meetings: The Committee will meet annually prior to the AGM. In addition, the executive will maintain contact during the year dealing with any issues and or emergencies as they arise.

Nominations for new Committee members: Elections will be held every three years. At that time, nominations must be made in writing with the signatories of two members and the written consent of the nominee. The nomination must be delivered to the Executive before the annual AGM of the election year. If there are insufficient nominations, then nominations may be made at the AGM of the election year from the floor. If there is more than one nomination for any office, a ballot will be prepared by the Executive.

MODIFICATION OF THE CONSTITUTION OR DISSOLUTION.

Any proposal to modify or dissolve the Constitution must come from the Committee or from at least half the current members.